How to Remove Remembered Accounts on Instagram (3 Ways)

0

Autofill has become a bane and a boon for people. While it is handy for the devices to remember our login details, it is equally scary because anybody can login without us realizing it. This poses a serious security concern. While the operating systems provide us with one level of autofill, Instagram has its own variation. This is extremely useful in this case because this app also provides a way to remove this data. So today, let us dive in to understand how to get Instagram to forget login details.

Remove Remembered Instagram Account

When you sign in from a new account, Instagram does not automatically save the credentials. It gives you the option to choose whether you wish to save it. This also means that there is a way for Instagram to just not save it. Accessing this is also simple.

Step 1: Access your Instagram profile.

Step 2: From there, on the top right-hand corner, press the hamburger menu to access your settings.

instagram-settings

Step 3: Scroll down and click on log out.

logout-from-Instagram

Upon tapping that option, you will get a logout box with the option to Remember your login info.

remember-login-info

Step 4: Uncheck ‘Remember my login info’ and click the Log out button.

This process ensures that the app forgets your login details from previous logins. In case you have already logged out of the app, you will have to log back in and follow the above steps.

Read – User Not Found on Instagram? (3 Possible Explanations)

Remove Logged Out Accounts on Instagram

Upon successful logging out, the app redirects you to the login page. You are presented with two options here: Log In As and Remove.

The first option is the automatic login which we do not want. Instead, click on Remove. This opens a dialogue box asking you to confirm the action.

Tap on Remove. Doing that will make the Instagram app remove that account and the associated details. The next time you log in, it will ask for the details afresh.

Removing Multiple Accounts

Both the above-detailed processes work similarly in case you are logged into multiple Instagram accounts. Follow the same instructions to remove the account details from Instagram.

Clear Instagram App Data

In rare cases that the steps above do not work for you, you can also go into the app settings and clear Instagram data. Choosing this option will remove all the data that has been saved by the app in its many days of running.

To clear data, follow these steps:

Step 1: Open your Android settings and access the application list/ application manager.

Step 2: Scroll down to Instagram and access its settings.

clear-data-&-cache

Step 3: Tap on Storage followed by the Clear Data button. This will clear all the saved data.

Read – 15 Apps For Getting Followers On Instagram

Log Out From Facebook

There are instances when, in case you use Facebook to log in to Instagram, these above steps might not work. In such a case, you will have to logout from the Facebook app. Doing so will log you out of the Instagram app as well. You can log back into Facebook. When you open Instagram again, you will have to log in there manually.

Log Out From Instagram Web App

While logging out from the desktop version is possible, it is not as easy as logging out from the app.

  • Open Instagram on your browser and access your profile.
  • Click on the Settings (gear button) next to Edit Profile.

log-out-from-Instagram-web-app

  • Select the Log Out option.

How to Log Out Instagram From All Devices

If for some reason, you want to log out from all the devices you have been logged in to, Instagram does not provide an option for that. The easiest way to do so is to change your password and select the Log Out from all devices option. This, in turn, will log you out of your account across devices.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here