Valorant Ranked System Explained: Increase Rank Fast

Valorant is a super popular FPS game loved by both casual and competitive players. If you’re into Valorant and want to step up your game, it’s time to try out the ranked mode. It might seem a bit overwhelming at first, but don’t worry – we’re here to break down the Valorant rank system for you. We’ll cover everything, from how the ranking works to the rules, what MMR means, and even the current player distribution in Valorant. So, let’s get started and make sense of it all!

How to Unlock Rank Mode in Valorant

Getting into ranked mode, aka competitive mode, in Valorant comes with a few prerequisites. To kick things off, you’ll need to hit account level 20. Valorant itself may suggest playing more to reach this milestone, but here’s a shortcut to gain XP swiftly (also called account or AP points) and level up faster. Every 5,000 AP you rack up translates to a boost in your account level. So, let’s dive into some quick tips to speed up that leveling process!

Valorant Ranks in Chronological Order

Valorant’s ranking system unfolds across nine tiers, starting from the more casual Iron and climbing up to the prestigious Radiant, which is the top tier. Each tier, except for Radiant, is split into three segments. Here’s the rundown:

  • Iron (Iron 1, Iron 2, Iron 3)
  • Bronze (Bronze 1, Bronze 2, Bronze 3)
  • Silver (Silver 1, Silver 2, Silver 3)
  • Gold (Gold 1, Gold 2, Gold 3)
  • Platinum (Platinum 1, Platinum 2, Platinum 3)
  • Diamond (Diamond 1, Diamond 2, Diamond 3)
  • Ascendant (Ascendant 1, Ascendant 2, Ascendant 3)
  • Immortal (Immortal 1, Immortal 2, Immortal 3)
  • Radiant

Valorant Rank Order System

Read: PUBG Mobile Ranking System Explained (Increase Rank Fast)

Navigating the Valorant Ranking System

Once you unlock Valorant’s competitive mode, your journey through the ranks begins. You’ll start as “Unranked,” marked with a question mark, and play five placement matches that’ll determine your first rank—Ascendant being the highest you can reach through placements. Here are some key rules to understand:

Solo and Party Rules:

  • Solo queue is cool, but party queue has restrictions.
  • No queuing as a group of four to keep things fair for solo players.
  • Duos or trios can queue together, but there are rank limits:
    • Iron or Bronze lowest rank in the group? The highest can be Silver.
    • Silver lowest rank? Max is Gold.
    • Gold lowest? Top is Platinum in the party.

Ranked Disparity Rules:

  • Platinum and above have similar rules. Example: Platinum 2 can queue with someone one tier above (up to Ascendant 2).
  • Ascendant 2 can queue with up to Immortal 2.

Party Size and RR Disparities:

  • No party size restrictions with five teammates.
  • But watch out for RR (rank rating) disparities:
    • Parties with Radiant players get 75% less RR after a win.
    • Parties with Ascendant 1-3 or Immortal 1-3 players face a 25% RR deduction for everyone.

Rank Reset:

  • Your rank resets at each episode’s end, which lasts about six months and includes three acts.

Understanding these rules helps you navigate Valorant’s ranking system for a rewarding competitive gaming experience.

Understanding Rank Rating (RR) in Valorant

Rank Rating in Valorant

Rank Rating, or RR in Valorant lingo, is the key metric as you climb the competitive ladder. Moving from one rank level to the next requires accumulating 100 RR. For instance, to progress from Iron 1 to Iron 2, you’ll need 100 RR. Achieving 100 RR in Iron 3 promotes you to Bronze 1. This RR rule holds true until Ascendant 3 in Valorant.

Beyond that, the journey begins with 10 RR in Immortal 1, where you compete for RR based on your regional ratings, which receive frequent updates. To reach Radiant in the Europe region, a minimum of 550 RR is required, alongside securing a spot among the top 500 players in your region. Notably, you don’t lose RR for inactivity, a detail explained further below. Keep in mind that losing a game can deduct RR, but the amount gained or lost hinges on your concealed Matchmaking Rating (MMR).

Understanding Hidden MMR in Valorant

When we talk about hidden MMR (Matchmaking Rating), it’s essential to note that it differs from your rank rating. As per Riot Games, each player is assigned a unique MMR, ensuring no two players share the same rating simultaneously. Your RR loss or gain in a competitive game is determined by this MMR, which also influences the opponents and teammates you encounter. Unfortunately, there’s no way to directly discover your hidden MMR.

Valorant Rank Leaderboard

Valorant Regional Leaderboard

For the fiercely competitive, Valorant features a ranked leaderboard within the game. This leaderboard operates on a regional basis, tied to your account’s regional location. It showcases the top 500 players in each region. A Valorant player needs to play at least one ranked competitive game weekly in order to maintain a spot on the leaderboard; otherwise, their name is removed from the leaderboard.

Regional Leaderboard

Act Rank Showcase in Valorant

In Valorant, each episode comprises three seasons or acts. At each act’s end, the game assigns your act rank, visible on the career page. This rank is determined by your wins in ranked games, with each win contributing to your act rank triangle. 

The rank you had the most wins in before the act concludes becomes your official act rank. It’s important to note that the acting rank doesn’t influence your placement rank in the next season. When your act rank resets, your MMR is considered for the next act’s placement rank.

Unlocking Performance Bonuses in Valorant

Performance Bonus in Valorant

A performance bonus can be a game-changer, when you’re on the quest for a substantial RR boost to elevate your rank in Valorant. This bonus, based on your and your opponents’ MMR, can add an extra layer of rank rating to your achievements.

Post-match, if you spot a yellow star next to your RR, rejoice – you’ve scored a performance bonus. Unlike a fixed amount, the performance boost varies, influenced by both your opponents’ rank and your performance ratio. It’s important to note that a performance bonus isn’t guaranteed after every ranked game.

Rank Decay in Valorant: Does it Exist?

In certain multiplayer games, players must regularly engage in competitive gameplay to prevent their ranks from diminishing – a mechanism known as ranked decay. However, for those curious about Valorant, there’s good news. Valorant doesn’t implement a rank decay system. Your highest rank remains intact, even if you don’t play regularly. Yet, if you’ve been away for a few months, a placement match is required to ensure your skills align with the rank you previously attained before the break.

Updated Rank Distribution in Valorant (June 2023)

An essential aspect of ranked games is grasping the distribution of rank levels among Valorant players. According to Riot Games, the landscape shifted after late December 2022, witnessing a surge in players reaching higher ranks. The introduction of the Ascendant rank further intensified competition and skill levels among high-rank players. As of June 2023, here’s the latest rank distribution in Valorant:

(Note: Specific rank distribution percentages or details were not provided in the original text, so I’ve left this section open for any specific data you’d like to include.)

Rank Level Player Distribution (June 2023)
Iron 5.3%
Bronze 15.9%
Silver 22%
Gold 21.4%
Platinum 17.1%
Diamond 11.4%
Ascendant 5.3%
Immortal 1.3%
Radiant 0.03%


Himangi is passionate about keeping up with the ever-evolving landscape of technology. In her free time, she indulges her interests in neuroscience and art.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here